ALBUM: Mac DeMarco – Here Comes the Cowboy

Mac DeMarco has announced a new album, Here Comes the Cowboy. and IT will mark the debut release on Mac’s Record Label. Mac has also shared the single “Nobody.” Watch its video, which stars Mac as a lizard/cowboy hybrid, and check out Here Comes the Cowboy’s artwork and tracklist, below.

“This one is my cowboy record,” Mac said in a statement. “Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up, there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.”

Last year, Mitski released an album called Be The Cowboy featuring a single called “Nobody.” According to his representative, Mac never listened to Mitski’s album and learned about her album and song title only after determining his own album title and single. In a tweet, Mitski acknowledged the similarities, writing, “I’m 100% sure Mac & I just went fishing in the same part of the collective unconscious!” She continued, “Anyway thanks for the laugh, Mac! Happy release!”

Here Comes the Cowboy features keyboard contributions from Alec Meen, while Joe Santarpia co-engineered and mixed the record. Mac heads out on a North American tour this spring. He’ll join Anderson .Paak for select dates on his upcoming “Best Teef in the Game” tour. Find tickets here.

Here Comes the Cowboy Treacklist:

01 Here Comes the Cowboy
02 Nobody
03 Finally Alone
04 Little Dogs March
05 Preoccupied
06 Choo Choo
07 K
08 Heart to Heart
09 Hey Cowgirl
10 On the Square
11 All of Our Yesterdays
12 Skyless Moon
13 Baby Bye Bye

Expected Release: May 10, 2019

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.